• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, built environment shapers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Bewafa24 ID, and join us today! Register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account, or use your email address.

What Are The Nine Provinces Of South Africa And Their Premiers


Best Of The Best
Where is South Africa?

South Africa is a continent on the southern tip, is washed by the Atlantic ocean on the west and by the Indian Ocean on the south and east. Its neighbors are South West Africa (Namibia) in the northwest, Zimbabwe and Bostwana in the north, and Mozambique and Swaziland in the northeast.

South Africa.jpg

The Kingdom of Lesotho forms an enclave within the southeastern part of South Africa. South Africa has a high interior plateau, or veld nearly three times that of California.

South Africa's former homelands, also known as Bantustans, were reintegrated and the four existing provinces were divided into nine. The twelfth, thirteenth and sixteenth amendments to the constitution changed the borders of seven of the provinces.

The Union of South Africa was established in 1910 by combining four British colonies: the Cape Colony, the Natal Colony, the Transvaal Colony and the Orange River Colony. (The latter two were, before the Second Boer War, independent republics known as the South African Republic and the Orange Free State.) These colonies became the four original provinces of the Union: Cape Province, Transvaal Province, Natal Province and Orange Free State Province.

Segregation of the black population started as early as 1913, with ownership of land by the black majority being restricted to certain areas totalling about 13% of the country. From the late 1950s, these areas were gradually consolidated into "homelands", also called "bantustans". Four of these homelands were established as quasi-independent nation states of the black population during the apartheid era. In 1976, the homeland of Transkei was the first to accept independence from South Africa, and although this independence was never acknowledged by any other country, three other homelands – Bophuthatswana (1977), Venda (1979) and Ciskei (1981) – followed suit.

South Africa pictures.jpg

9 Provinces Of South Africa And Their Premiers

The head of the provincial executive is the Premier, who is elected by the provincial legislature from amongst its members; frequently the Premier will be the provincial leader of the majority party. The term of office of the Premier is the same as that of the legislature (normally five years) with a term limit of two terms. The legislature can force the resignation of the Premier by a motion of no confidence. If the Premiership is vacant and the legislature fails to elect a new Premier within 30 days, the legislature is dissolved and an election is called. As of May 2019 the nine Premiers are:

  • Premier of the Eastern Cape: Oscar Mabuyane (ANC)
  • Premier of the Free State: Sisi Ntombela (ANC)
  • Premier of Gauteng: David Makhura (ANC)
  • Premier of KwaZulu-Natal: Sihle Zikalala (ANC)
  • Premier of Limpopo: Stanley Mathabatha (ANC)
  • Premier of Mpumalanga: Refilwe Mtsweni (ANC)
  • Premier of North West: Job Mokgoro (ANC)
  • Premier of the Northern Cape: Zamani Saul (ANC)
  • Premier of the Western Cape: Alan Winde (DA)